2018 election pool growing



The deadline for filing to run for public office in the 2018 primary election is closing in quickly.

The filing deadline is 4 p.m. on Tuesday, January 30, 2018 for positions that appear on the May 22, 2018 primary ballot. The deadline for non-partisan races is 4 p.m. on Tuesday, August 14, 2018.

Filings as of Tuesday, January 2, 2018:

County Clerk:

Mike Corey (R – incumbent)


Mike Smith (R – incumbent)

Dennis K. Rogers (D)

County Attorney:

Gilbert E. Holland (R – incumbent)


Charles Sprinkles (R)

Mike Mitchell (R)


Keith “Buster” Liford (R)

Mary S. Hammons (R – incumbent)

Jerry Baker (R)

Bob Corey (R)


Mike Blevins (R)

Circuit Court Clerk:

Greg Helton (R)

Magistrate District 1:

Roger Mills (R)

Billy Parks (R)

Sam Hamlin (R)

Gentry Gibson (R)

Jerry Smith (R)

Magistrate District 2:

Billy Howard (R)

Steve Smith (R)

Curt Lawson (R)

Josh Trosper (R)

Stacey Roark (R – incumbent)

Magistrate District 3:

George Hamilton (D)

Danny Jordan (R)

Denny Leddington (R)

Jimmy Walters (R)

Magistrate District 4:

Jason Lake (R – incumbent)

Magistrate District 5:

Darryl Baker (R)

Herb Wells (R)

Jesse Jones (R)

David Valentine (R)

Constable District 1:

Mike Bingham (D)

Constable District 2:

Reed Murphy (R – incumbent)

Willie B. Mills (R)

Constable District 3:

Larry Young (R)

Constable District 5:

Shawn Rogers (R)

Brandon Bolton (R – incumbent)

Property Valuation Admin:

Bill Oxendine (D – incumbent)

2018 Non-Partisan Race

Knox County School Board District 2:

James E. Gray