Andrews and Yett Lead Bulldogs in DePauw Invitational

GREENCASTLE, Ind. – The Union College men’s and women’s track & field teams continued their 2015 indoor season on Saturday, taking part in the Depauw (Ind.) Invitational.

Overall, the Union women placed 6th overall, while the men finished 13th.

For the women, Mykelle Andrews (FR/Louisville, Ky.) led the way once again with two five finishes. Andrews took home a first place finish in the 400-meter dash with a new school record time of 1:01.83 and a third place finish in the 60-meter dash crossing the finish line at 8.15.

Erika Rogers (FR/Kettering, Ohio) broke a school record in the 600-meter run with a second place finish of 1:49.51. Danielle Jasiewicz (SR/Worcester, Mass) finished behind Rogers in third place, crossing the finish line with a time of 1:49.81.

In other track events: Jessica Shepherd (JR/Somerset, Ky. ) finished fifth in the 200-meter dash (27.61), Katie Herdman (FR/New Carlisle, Ohio) finished fifth in the 60-meter hurdles (10.17) and Miranda Epperson-Evans (SO/Harlan, Ky.) set a new school record in the 5000-meter run (24:47.67).

Elsewhere for the women in track events, Molly Diamon (FR/Independence, Ky.) set a new school record in the shot put with a fifth place throw of 34 feet 11.25 inches. Kayse Cornett (JR/Corbin, Ky.) finished seventh in the weight throw with a new school record throw of 38 feet 3.25 inches. Rounding out the field events for the Bulldogs, Helen Weber (SR/Marburg, Germany) finished sixth in the high jump and Diamon finished eighth in the weight throw.

Tyson Yett (FR/Lawerenceburg, Ky.) led the way for the Union men with a second place finish in the high jump and a fourth place finish in the triple jump. Yett set a new school record in the high jump (6 feet, 3.5 inches).

Rounding out the Union men, Jeremy Jackson (FR/Covington, Ky.) finished sixth in the 600-meter run (1:29.51) and Stephen Gray (FR/Louisville, Ky.) finished eighth in the shot put (42 feet, 4.5 inches).

The Union track & field teams will wrap up the 2015 indoor season on Feb. 28 at the Fred Wilt Memorial Invitational in Anderson, Ind.