Fiscal Court to order new voting machines

Knox County Fiscal Court
Knox County Fiscal Court

By Bobbie Poynter


Knox County will soon catch up with the rest of the state with the updating of its official voting machines. According to Judge Executive J.M. Hall, Knox is the only county in the state of Kentucky that still uses non-electronic voting machines. Approximately 45 new machines will be purchased through a state grant.

“We’ve had complaints of buttons not lighting up, and the old machines are hard to get parts for,” he explained. “As the new machines will be electronic, we may even be able to get voting results back to the county clerk faster.”

A road in Knox County will soon fall under a different name. The Fiscal Court, with the blessing of Knox County Attorney Gilbert Holland and 911, approved a petition submitted by Elizabeth Whitley to have a portion of Lynn Camp Branch Road located on the Whitley property changed to WP Bradford Place. The road name change, she said, will make it easier for first responders to locate the address in the event of an emergency.

Whitley, who has been attending Fiscal Court meetings for the past three months and pleading her case, was glad to finally get the court’s approval for the change.

“It’s all good for safety sake,” she told the court.

Judge-Executive J.M. Hall was happy to announce to those in attendance that approval has been given to build a new 200- or 300-bed jail.

“We’re just waiting for the state’s official letter on what size jail we can build,” he said.

In other business:

Knox County Attorney reported there has been $9,046.10 collected for delinquent taxes

Court approval was given to approve or re-approve the following county employees:

  • – Charles Frazier and George Hammons to the CRVHA
  • – Mike Mitchell as Emergency Management Director and Gerald Baker as Deputy director, 4-year appointments
  • – Steve Warren as Pride Coordinator
  • – Roger Bargo as Animal Control officer, 4 years
  • – Ronnie Payne as Road Dept. Forman and John Pickard at Assistant Road Department Forman, 4-year appointments
  • – John Tye as County Treasurer and Jack Ketchum as Assistant County Treasurer, 4-year appointments, as of July 1, 2015
  • – Billy Ferguson as part-time deputy jailer

The court approved the 2015 sheriff’s budget