Thompson regains the mayor’s seat

David Thompson and his family interview with Eddie Arnold after election results showed Thompson would be Barbourville mayor once again.
David Thompson and his family interview with Eddie Arnold after election results showed Thompson would be Barbourville mayor once again.

By Bobbie Poynter

In the three-way race for Barbourville City Mayor, it was former mayor David Thompson who outgunned current mayor Darren West and City Councilman Gary Williams, with 516 votes compared to Williams at 401 and West at 290.

“It was my choice to become mayor eight years ago,” said Thompson. “And without my family, the city employees, members of the community and some very good friends, I wouldn’t have been re-elected today.”

In a landslide victory Republican Mike Smith blindsided Democrat Kyle Campbell to become the next Knox County Sheriff.

Smith tallied 7,836 votes to Campbell’s 1,842, a margin of 6,021 votes.

When the final results came in, Smith won 26 of the county’s 30 precincts.

“I’m ready to roll my sleeves up and get to work for the people of Knox County,” said Smith.

J.M. Hall elected for third term

In the race for Knox County Judge-Executive, incumbent J.M. Hall came out victorious over challenger Michael Warren.

Hall tallied 5,665 votes, compared to 4,308 for Warren.

“There’s a lot of people out there who says there’s never been a Knox County Judge Executive elected to three terms. A lot of people thought it couldn’t be done, but it has,” said Hall. And I just want to thank my family and my supporters for once again giving me this opportunity.”

Hammons prevails

In the race for Knox Jailer, incumbent Mary Hammons took a decisive vote victory over Democrat Mike Baker by a tally of 5,676 to 4,113 – a margin of 1,563 votes.

“I’m grateful to those people who invited me into their homes and told me what they were looking for in a jail system. I want to thank my family and give praise to God for giving me this job and the opportunity to continue working for the community.

Family Court seats new judge

Stephen M. Jones won the Family Court seat over Marilyn Benge McGee with a total of 4,631 votes compared to McGee’s 3,998 votes.

Magistrate race results

In the first district magistrate race, Carson Gilbert took a 1,124 vote victory over opponent Billy Ray Smith. Gilbert ended the night with 1,124 votes compared to Smith’s 1,058.

In the second district magistrate race, incumbent Keith Abner lost to challenger Stacey Roark with 1,206 votes compared to Abner’s 968 votes.

In the third district magistrate race, Jerry “Rabbit” Cox ran unopposed.

In the fourth district magistrate race, candidate Jason Lake got the nod with 1,081 votes over Democratic challenger John “Dugger” Ferguson’s 1,033 votes.

In the fifth district magistrate race, Giulio Cima was unopposed.

Constable candidates face off

District 1 Larry Eagle 1,244; Jerry Wyatt Jr. 1,000

District 2 Reed Murphy  (unopposed)

District 3 Mike Bingham 805; Tim Burton 694

District 4 Jimmy Dye 940; Gary Bays 939

District 5 Carl Bolton (unopposed)