Trump declares Knox ‘Major Disaster’ area

Knox County will soon be on the mend following the February flood, the largest we’ve seen since 2002, that caused damage to numerous public roadways.

On April 12, President Donald Trump issued a Major Disaster Declaration for Kentucky, releasing federal funds to help southern and eastern Kentucky communities recover from severe storms, flooding, landslides and mudslides that occurred from February 9-14, according to a press release from Congressman Hal Rogers’ office.

Knox County is one of eighteen Kentucky counties that will receive public assistance through the Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) declaration. Surrounding counties, including Bell and Whitley, were also identified.

You must be logged in to view this content.